What is a limited role?
Setting the limited role means restricting users to read, update, or delete ONLY their OWN entry. You can choose to set one of the functions of reading, updating, and deleting or set them all together to the Limited role.
Limited Role Functions
|Limited Read Only||If you have set the limited role only to the Read function, the user will only be able to view anything that the user himself/herself has created. Other users will not be able to read your entries.|
For example: Users A and B both have a limited read only role. User A will not be able to see any entries that User B created and vice versa.
|Limited Update Only||When the Update function is set to Limited, the user will only be able to update any entries that have been assigned to him/her or whatever entry that he/she has created. This role restricts other users from updating your entry. However, others can view your entry or delete it if their Read and Delete role is not set to Limited.|
For example: Users A and B have read only and update limited role. Users A and B can both see each other’s entries but they cannot make any updates or edits on each other’s entry.
|Limited Delete Only||Enabling the Limited role to the Delete only function will not allow anyone to delete your entries except only the user himself/herself. However, other users can still view and update your entry if their Read and Update functions are not set to Limited.|
For example: Users A and B both have a read only, update only, and delete limited role. Users A and B both can read and update each other’s entry but User A cannot delete User B’s entry and vice versa.
Please take note of the following rules:
- The Limited Role is more effective when you apply it in a specific team (i.e. when you don’t want your Sales Team to view each other’s deals)
- Limited roles can be enabled on the Read, Update, and Delete functions only.